History Background

The Catholic Diocese of Rulenge-Ngara was so called after dividing the former diocese of Rulenge on 14/08/2008, where two dioceses were formed, that of Rulenge-Ngara and Kayanga. The diocese is administered by His Excellency Bishop Severine Niwemugizi, who was ordained as a Bishop of the same diocese on 16/02/2010 up to date.

The Catholic Diocese of Rulenge Ngara is of Latin rite under the tutela of His excellence Bishop Severine Niwemugizi.  The diocese covers an area of 13,004 sq km, within the administrative districts of Biharamulo, Ngara and Chato. The Diocese maintains six denaries, 29 parishes, seven departments, 4 secondary schools and one primary school.